Karin Hellqvist, violin

Heloisa Amaral, piano

Joshua Hyde, saxophone

Noam Bierstone, percussion


Formed in 2015, Hellqvist/Amaral/Hyde/Bierstone reunites four of today's foremost new-music artists; each having forged global careers as soloists, chamber musicians & project creators, while regularly performing with the some of the world's best known contemporary music ensembles such as Ensemble Intercontemporain, MusikFabrik, Cikada and Oslo Sinfonietta.      

Ensemble in residence at the Radcliffe Institute of Advanced Study at Harvard University, the quartet was invited to continue a close collaboration with Mauricio Pauly and to perform his works on a monographic concert as part of his 2014/15 Radcliffe Fellowship.

The group aims to define a new standard of interpretation informed by close creative collaboration between performers and composers as well as through the thorough investigation of expressive media available today.

Upcoming projects include a tour of South-East Asia & Australia to present the music of Sabrina Schroeder & Mauricio Pauly, a recording project supported by the Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Music Media and Technology at McGill University in Montreal as well as another residency at the Radcliffe Institute, this time focusing on the music of composer Anthony Tan. Current commissions also include new quartet works by Mauricio Pauly and Santiago Diez Fisher (AR).